Why I ditched the city girl life for a country cottage

Its a Saturday morning on the edge of Mount Burke Station, just off Lake Wnaka.
Ive just picked 20 peaches and pears from the fruit trees outside my cottage and I am going to make a crumble for dessert, just like my rural Southland grandmother used to.

Unlike her, Im no farmer. Im no permanent resident on this farm either. Im a writer, I am a renter and I am living the borrowed dream.

Supplied
Through the rental market of our great countryside, Olivia Caldwell has finally been able to have a place to herself, a house that she does in fact call home, for now.

Not only do I have a mini-orchard here, I often pick flowers from my garden.

READ MORE:
* The rental squeeze: Not all landlords are greedy - we have bills too
* When is a lounge also a bedroom? Wellington's rentals reignite calls for residential WOF
* It's a wild ride on the political campaign trail in the deep south

I have privacy on my very own front porch, I have sheep and deer in the paddock in front of me and a short walk up the back the farm takes me to an incredible picnic spot, overlooking Lake Wnaka.

Ive become that movie character clich the journalist who uplifts to the countryside, fed up with city life. These characters are usually 60-plus, divorced, or going through a midlife crisis, sure.

Supplied
In her new Central Otago location, Olivia Caldwell has privacy on her very own front porch, has sheep and deer in the paddock in front of her and a short walk up the back the farm takes her to an incredible picnic spot, overlooking Lake Wnaka.

At 32, I am more the Bridget Jones type, suffering city fatigue and done with sky-high Wellington rent.

There are a growing number of us figuring out we dont have to put up with the overpriced and sometimes unliveable flats of our big three cities, Auckland, Christchurch and Wellington.